Response Post: Handles and Hashtags.

This post, resonated with me because I could be a whole lot better at Twitter. I remember the very first Twitter account I made was for my high school rock/metal band, named “Guns Fall Silent” (lol high school rock bands). As much as I had the intention of creating a social media account that would lead our band to the masses, I had no idea how Twitter worked. I think I checked that account a grand total of maybe three times. Tweeted maybe once.

Fast forward to today,  I now have two Twitter accounts. One of them is my personal account @bigredceej. I started my personal Twitter in order to post random bodies of the text on the Internet with little to no consequences (I’m conscious of what I post). I also have an account for my music production alias “CARZiNGER”, that handle is @carzinger_music. I started this account be able to spread my music without spamming my personal account followers.

I can’t say I’m by any means a Twitter professional, but within the past five months or so I’ve really grasped a hold of what makes a Twitter account successful. The tips I’ve caught up with are all mentioned on Anneke Jong’s post on “How to Not Suck at Twitter”. (Whether I actually utilize those techniques is up for debate). The continuous usage of hashtags, handles and mentioning trending topics = followers. Thats undeniable.

Top-Twitter-Accounts

However, this is my personal qualm with getting a successful Twitter account. Its quite standard to see Twitter accounts be overrun with hashtags/mentions/handles/trending issues, etc. Blue links across 90% of my Twitter feed makes my feed look the same, even though I follow a total of 543 accounts.

So you really have two options with Twitter.

One option is to not follow the protocol to get a “successful” Twitter account. You can tweet in the style that suits your fancy, and not pay attention to the “should dos” of Twitter. Then hope that followers come naturally. But don’t get your hopes up.

The second option is to follow the protocol of successful Twitter accounts and blow up your account with mentions/hashtags/etc. This will gain some traction as the more involved you are, the more involvement you’ll receive from other Twitter users. Every time I tweet using a hashtag, or mention, I usually get a favorite and/or retweet from an account I’ve never even seen. I check these accounts and they’ve always been legitimate accounts. I’ve even had a brief Twitter conversation with the San Francisco International Airport, because I used their handle and a hashtag.

Point is that, in order to not suck at Twitter, you need to care. Imagine that, the more you care, the more successful you’ll be. If you really don’t care for Twitter attention, then do you, tweet as you like. But you’re looking for those mentions, followers and retweets, get in the habit of always using handles and hashtags.

As I’ve said, using those handles and hashtags gains Twitter attention. This is one way to build your brand in the music industry, or any industry for that matter. Lets look at an account with a lot of followers, for example, Tiesto. When someone sees Tiesto mention someone or something that they haven’t heard of, people are going to investigate. Tiesto has 2.56 million followers. Even if five percent of his followers see his tweet that mentions you, 128,000 people have now heard of your brand. All it takes is clicking on your Twitter handle, and just like that, your brand has been discovered. That is the power of proper hashtag/handle usage.

How To Not Suck at Twitter, by Anneke Jong

Leave a Reply

